Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Modifying Map - How Difficult
Forum 17B > Counter Strike 1.6 > Your Maps - WIP - Tutos
Lanm
I want to modify some maps to open the rooftops on them - which are partialy unreachable because of the hidden walls. I also want to add some ladders. I only have the client/server files for these maps and no sources.

How difficult would it be? I am completely new to mapping but otherwise quite expirienced.
LiveWire
QUOTE (Lanm @ 31/01/2015 - 20:38:14) *
I want to modify some maps to open the rooftops on them - which are partialy unreachable because of the hidden walls. I also want to add some ladders. I only have the client/server files for these maps and no sources.

How difficult would it be? I am completely new to mapping but otherwise quite expirienced.

I`d start by running the map with low gravity to see if you can get on the roofs because as you say they are often protected by hidden (clipped) walls which can`t be changed.
Tonight /A/
It depends actually, if the mapper used clip or {BLUE textures. If he used {BLUE, then he tied it with func_wall entity, so you could remove it with AMXX plugin.
Lanm
So, building modified BSP file is not doable?

What about ladders?
LiveWire
Might be easier to tells us wich map you want to change.

The other problem is that editing maps without permission is often frowned upon, but if you setup your server right the client has no need to download the edited map. wink.gif
Lanm
I am particularly interested in modifying de_torn.

Looking at mysterious info in disassebly programs I found mentions of func_wall.

I also found info about that it may be quite possible to disassemble the map and reassemble it with some probable quality loss.

QUOTE (LiveWire @ 07/02/2015 - 21:57:27) *
The other problem is that editing maps without permission is often frowned upon